Margaret Sexton Memorial Trophy - Cartmel Racecourse

Previous Winners

2016  Henry Brooke

2015  Keith and Helen Bowron

2014  Maurice Barnes

Margaret Sexton Memorial Trophy

The 2017 winner of the Margaret Sexton Trophy, which is awarded for an outstanding contribution to the season at Cartmel, will be decided during the course's close season after a nominee was put forward on every day of competition.

This year's nominees are:-

May 27 - James Bowen for his cool handling of Curious Carlos to land his first ever win under Rules
May 29 - Andrew Nicholls, who saddled first and second in the very competitive maiden hunters chase
May 31 - Charlotte Jones for a sensational first ever win on Lough Kent which she built on during the season
June 30 - James Moffatt for a sensational one-two with Lough Kent and Captain Brown in the featured Ron Wadey Is Now 70 Handicap Hurdle
July 2 - Ian Barran owner of the course stalwart Alderbrook Lad, who achieved a lifetime's ambition with a Cartmel winner and with a horse who has come back from adversity
July 22 - The Slack/Sayer Family success in the Banks Lyon Lady Jockeys Handicap Hurdle, won by Beeno, who is owned by Arthur Slack, trained by his son Kenneth and was ridden by his grand-daughter Emma Sayer.
July 24 - Varlien Vyner-Brooks a great supporter of racing at Cartmel, who received the winner's prize as owner of Think Ahead in the Bill McClure Maiden Hurdle and then presented the winner's prize as sponsor of the Kintail Holiday Cottage Handicap Chase
Aug 26 - Richard Ford who took his Cartmel record this season to three winners from three runners when Shake It Up took the Handicap Chase

The nominees for this year’s award will be hoping to succeed jockey Henry Brooke, who won the trophy in 2016 for his brilliant ride on Altruism when a mistake forced him to ride from two out without irons and he only just failed to get up an win.

The eventual winner receives a cheque for £500 with a further £250 donated to both St Mary’s Hospice at Ulverston and the British Thoroughbred Retraining Centre in the name of the winner.