2016 Jockeys Challenge - Cartmel Racecourse

2016 Jockeys Challenge

Brian Hughes reclaims Jockeys Challenge


Brian Hughes, the 2014 winner, recalimed the Cartmel Jockeys Challenge, sponsored by the Swan Hotel & Spa, Newby Bridge, when he held off the threats posed by Henry Brooke and Richard Johnson on the final day of competition.

Hughes had gone into the last day of competition with a four points lead over Brooke and Johnson still not out of it, though with 10 points to make up, with plenty to do.

Once Johnson made the best possible start to the day by winning on John Monash with Brooke second on Mondlicht and Hughes only third on the odds-on favourite Bellany Knight is had suddenly started to look slightly hairy for the leader, but nerves were settled with a win on Endeavor and that settled it.

Hughes, the only one of the three leaders to have ridden at all nine Cartmel meetings this season, had taken over the lead in midsummer when early leader Johnson missed three meetings and dropped 10 points off the pace andwas able to maintain the advantage right through to the end.

The three leaders finished well clear of the rest of the field head by Will Kennedy from Brian Harding with James Cowley's good season, which included a last race winner with Perfect Poison taking him into sixth place.



Jockey Pts
Brian Hughes 43
Henry Brooke 37
Richard Johnson 32
Will Kennedy 17
Brian Harding 15
James Cowley 13
Tom Scudamore 10
Sam Twiston Davies 10
Sean Bowen 8
Sam Coltherd 8
Tommy Dowson 8
Derek Fox 8
Sean Quinlan 8
Ryan Day 7
Tony Kelly 7
Trevor Whelan 6
Callum Bewley 5
Joe Colliver 5
Thomas Garner 5
John Kington 5
Richie McLernon 5
Denis O'Regan 5
James Reveley 5
Aidan Coleman 4
Mr John Dawson 4
Robert Dunne 4
Colm McCormack 4
Mr Harry Reed 4
Nick Schofield 4
Gavin Sheehan 4
Daragh Bourke 3
Rachael Blackmore 3
Grant Cockburn 3
David England 3
Noel Fehily 3
Mr Paddy Gerety 3
Mr Joe Hill 3
Miss Aine O'Connor 3
Dean Pratt 3
Nick Slatter 3
Ross Turner 3
Mr Zac Baker 2
William Boyes 2
Paddy Brennan 2
Blair Campbell 2
Nico De Boinville 2
Miss Paige Fuller 2
Mr Ben Furnival 2
Wayne Hutchinson 2
Mr Stephen Kelly 2
Miss Rachel McDonald 2
Adam Nicol 2
Ben Poste 2
Mr Roger Quinlan 2
Emma Sayer 2
Miss Emma Todd 2
Miss Catherine Walton 2
Miss Amy Waugh 2
David Bass 1
Mr Gary Beaumont 1
Miss K Bryson 1
Lewis Gordon 1
Jamie Hamilton 1
Charlotte Jones 1
Adrian Lane 1
Stephen McCarthy 1
Paul Moloney 1
Tom O'Brien 1
Trevor Ryan 1
Mr Joe Wright 1



2008 - Richie McGrath

2009 - Graham Lee

2010 - Graham Lee

2011 - Jason Maguire

2012 - Jason Maguire

2013 - Jason Maguire

2014 - Brian Hughes

2015 - Richard Johnson

2016 - Brian Hughes