2017 Trainers Challenge - Cartmel Racecourse

Previous Winners

2017  James Moffatt

2016  James Moffatt

2015  James Moffatt

2014  Donald McCain

2013  Donald McCain

2012  Donald McCain

2011  Donald McCain

2017 Trainers Challenge

James Moffatt completes Trainers Challenge hat-trick


James Moffatt did it again, crowning a fantastic season at his local course by lifting the Andrea Robinson Memorial Trophy as winner of the Cartmel Trainers Challenge for a third successive season.

Moffatt, who trains within hailing distance of the course was quick to pay tribute to his owners for their support in setting up his hat-trick in the competition, saying: "I have to thank all my owners who have supported the push to win this title again. They have got fully behind me and allowed me to run their horses here.

"The big challenge for me is to kick on from this. I am delighted to have won for a third time, but I need to build on it and that means strengthening the team so that I can keep the momentum going" he said.

Moffatt trailed four-times winner Donald McCain in the early stages of the competition, but once he had struck the front, he kept the charge going and despite not adding to his win tally over the August Bank Holiday meeting, he still had enough placed horses to clock up another seven points.

That took him to a final tally of 46 points, a staggering 17 ahead of runner-up McCain with Northern Ireland trainer Stuart Crawford holding on for third place despite not having any runners on the final day of the campaign.

Peter Bowen, on the other hand, had a very successful August Bank Holiday feature to catapult himself into fourth place with Martin Todhunter's excellent Cartmel season reflected with 18 points for fifth place and Kenneth Slack in sixth.

The final table is:- 

Trainer Pts
James Moffatt 46
Donald McCain 29
Stuart Crawford 23
Peter Bowen 21
Martin Todhunter 18
Kenneth Slack 13
Sue Smith 12
Iain Jardine 11
Jonjo O'Neill 10
Richard Ford 9
Mickey Hammond 9
Dianne Sayer 9
Sam England 8
Neil Mulholland 7
Tim Easterby 6
Brian Ellison 6
Noel C Kelly 6
Mark Walford 6
Andrew Nicholls 5
Peter WInks 5
Gillian Boanas 4
Olly Murphy 4
Peter Atkinson 3
Jennie Candlish 3
Paul Collins 3
James Ewart 3
Chris Grant 3
Alan Hill 3
Henry Hogarth 3
Jo Hughes 3
David Loughnane 3
Charlie Mann 3
Barry Murtagh 3
Paul Nicholls 3
R Mike Smith 3
Jamie Snowden 3
Susan Corbett 2
Henry Daly 2
Lucinda Egerton 2
Gordon Elliott 2
Joanne Foster 2
Tom Gretton 2
John Joseph Hanlon 2
Richard Hobson 2
Ronan McNally 2
Graeme McPherson 2
Fergal O'Brien 2
Pauline Robson 2
Mike Sowersby 2
Nigel Twiston Davies 2
Barbara Butterworth 1
Thomas Coyle 1
John Dawson 1
David Dennis 1
Tom George 1
Philip Hobbs 1
Malcolm Jefferson 1
Philip Kirby 1
Kerry Lee 1
Sophie Leech 1
Michael Mullineaux 1
Lucinda Russell 1
Jeff Sadik 1
Matt Sheppard 1
Aaron Stronge 1
Gemma Walton 1
Simon West 1